Frequently Asked Questions regarding Pennsylvania DUI Law.
- What is a "BAC?"
- Will I lose my license?
- Can I get Work Release?
- Will I go to Jail?
- Can I get a DUI while on medication?
- What is "ARD?"
- How do I know if I am eligible for ARD?
- Should I submit to a blood test or formal breath test?
- Why was I charged with two offenses for one DUI?
- What should I do if I am charged with a DUI?
- What are Prior Offenses?
- Am I allowed to avoid DUI Checkpoints?
- What is an Ignition Interlock System?
- What are Field Sobriety Tests?
"BAC" is short for Blood Alcohol Content. This is a standard measurement of how much alcohol is in your blood at any given time.
Yes, if your BAC is higher than 0.099%, or your have a prior DUI in the last 10 years, your license will be suspended.
This depends on the seriousness of the DUI offense. It is possible to get work release, but it is difficult. If your license is suspended as part of an ARD program, then you may not receive a work release.
Maybe. An officer may take you to jail to sober up when you are stopped. Also, if your BAC is above 0.099%, or you have prior offenses, then you may serve at least two days in jail if convicted and may serve up to five years.
Yes. Some medication, like cough medicine or anti-depressants, contains substances that alter your ability to drive. If your medication says "Avoid using heavy machinery" or "Do not drive after taking this medication," then you may be charged with Driving Under the Influence.
"ARD" is short for Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition, which is a program for first time offenders.
You are ARD eligible if it is your first DUI, your DUI did not involve an accident, and you did not have a passenger less than 14 years of age at the time your were stopped.
Yes, under Pennsylvania law you have a right to refuse chemical testing, but you will receive an automatic license suspension if you do.
Under Pennsylvania law, you may be charged with a General Impairment DUI, as well as a Specific BAC DUI for the same offense.
You should make plans to attend your Preliminary Hearing and call an our office to speak with an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible.
For DUI purposes, a Prior Offense is any Pennsylvania DUI within the last 10 years, or any DUI in another state in the last 10 years if that state has a DUI statute similar to Pennsylvania's.
Yes, but only if you are able to do so without breaking any other traffic laws.
This is a system that requires you to blow into a machine before starting your vehicle after being convicted of a DUI. It is necessary in order to revive your license after certain suspensions.
These are tests give at the scene of the DUI stop that help an officer evaluate your general impairment. They consist of walking in a straight line, standing on one foot, checking the movement of your eyes, and a breath test.
At Morrow & Artim, we offer a no cost, no obligation review of your commercial DUI or criminal law matter via a short telephone consult or an email reply. If both you and our firm agree that legal representation is required, an in-office appointment will be scheduled.Call Morrow & Artim today at 412-823-8003 to obtain the legal help that you deserve.